top of page
Writer's pictureTerry Davies

The Book: Tinker tinker soldier Priest - Lord Send me assistance

Title: Lord Send me assistance

The scene opens with Father John Jones sitting in his office at St. Mark's Anglican Church. He looks up as there's a knock on the door.

Father John Jones: [smiling] Come in!


The door opens and in walks The Reverend Amber Soloman, the new curate sent by Bishop James.


Father John Jones: [standing up] Welcome, Reverend Soloman! It's great to finally meet you.


The Reverend Amber Soloman: [smiling warmly] Thank you, Father John. I'm really looking forward to working with you.


Father John Jones: [nodding] And I'm looking forward to having you as my new partner in this mission. Now, let me introduce you to Mrs. Smith, our church warden.


Cut to a later scene, where Father John, The Reverend Amber Soloman, Mrs. Smith, and the church council are all sitting together in the parish hall.


90-Year-Old Sir Thompson: [leaning in to whisper to Picky Parishioner Susan] So, what do we call her? Is it "Reverend" or "Mother"?


Picky Parishioner Susan: [whispering back] I think it's "Reverend". But I'm not sure. We should probably ask.


Father John Jones: [standing up] Ladies and gentlemen, may I have your attention please? I want to formally welcome The Reverend Amber Soloman to our community.


Father John Jones: [smiling] It's "Reverend". But really, it's up to her. Some female priests prefer "Mother" as a sign of respect, while others prefer "Reverend". So, I suggest we simply ask her how she would like to be addressed.


[The Reverend Amber Soloman nods in agreement.]


Picky Parishioner Susan: [nodding] Yes, that's a good idea.


Father John Jones: [smiling] And in the meantime, let's all welcome her with open hearts and minds, and support her in her new ministry with us.


[The parishioners clap politely as The Reverend Amber Soloman stands up to wave.]


Father John Jones: [continuing] I know there's been some confusion about how to address her.

But let me assure you, she is first and foremost a fellow servant of God, and we are all equal in His eyes. So, let us treat her with the same love and respect we would like any member of our church family. Mrs. Smith: [nodding] Hear, hear! 90-Year-Old Sir Thompson: [smiling] Well said,

Father John. And welcome, Reverend Soloman.


The Reverend Amber Soloman: [smiling] Thank you all for your warm welcome. I look forward to getting to know each and every one of you and serving alongside you in this community.

 

 

 

 

The Next instalment will be Published on 29th July at 12 PM UK Time

0 views0 comments

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page