top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Davies

Tinker tinker soldier Priest - The Picky Parishioner

Updated: May 29, 2023


Title: The Picky Parishioner

Characters:

·Father John: the priest of the church

·Susan: a picky parishioner

·Other parishioners: a group of extras who sit in the pews and react to the conversation


Setting: A typical Anglican church, with a pulpit, pews, and stained-glass windows named St. Mark’s Anglican Church.


(Father John is standing at the pulpit, giving a sermon. Susan is sitting in the front row, looking unhappy.)


Father John: And so, my dear friends, let us remember that the greatest commandment is to love one another.


Susan: (muttering to herself) Yeah, yeah, we've heard that before.

(Other parishioners turn around to look at her.)

Father John: Excuse me, Susan, is something bothering you?


Susan: Yes, Reverend, I have to say I'm not very happy with the service today.


Father John: Oh, I'm sorry to hear that. Is there anything specific that you're unhappy about?


Susan: Well, for one thing, the hymns we sang were all so old-fashioned. I don't see why we can't have more modern music.


Father John: Ah, I understand. But you know, the hymns we sing have been part of our Anglican tradition for centuries. They remind us of our roots and connect us with generations of worshippers who came before us.


Susan: (rolling her eyes) That's all very well, but I think we need to be more relevant to the younger generation. They won't come to church if we don't modernize.


Father John: I see your point, but I don't think we should compromise our core beliefs and practices just to attract more people. We need to stay true to who we are and what we stand for.


Susan: (sighing) Well, I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree. But there's one more thing that's really been bothering me.


Father John: Yes?


Susan: The coffee we serve after the service is just terrible. It's always so weak and tasteless.


Father John: (chuckling) I'm afraid I can't do much about that, Susan. We rely on volunteers to make the coffee, and sometimes they don't get it right. But you know what they say, any coffee is better than no coffee.


(Other parishioners laugh.)


Susan: (grumbling) I suppose you're right. I just wish everything could be perfect.


Father John: (smiling) Well, Susan, if everything were perfect, we wouldn't need to come to church, would we?

(Other parishioners nod and murmur in agreement.)


Susan: (smiling sheepishly) I guess you have a point there, Reverend.


Father John: (concluding his sermon) So, my friends, let us embrace our imperfections and love one another just as we are. That is the true beauty of our faith.


(Other parishioners stand up and start singing the final hymn. Susan joins in reluctantly, but seems to be enjoying herself a little.)


(THE End)


 

The Next instalment will be Published on 3RD JUNE at 12 PM UK Time

bottom of page